Sports

Callum Hudson-Odoi avoids penalty despite handling the ball in the box

Manchester United’s players fume as Callum Hudson-Odoi escapes giving away a penalty despite handling the ball inside Chelsea’s area… with ref Stuart Atwell deciding not to award a spot kick despite VAR check

  • Callum Hudson-Odoi avoided giving away a penalty despite handling in the box
  • VAR recommended that the referee check the pitch-side monitor for a handball
  • However, Stuart Atwell decided that there was no reason to award a penalty 

Referee Stuart Atwell decided not to give a penalty against Callum Hudson-Odoi, despite the ball striking his hand in the penalty area against Manchester United.

Early in Chelsea’s Premier League clash with United on Sunday, the VAR official advised the referee to look at the pitch-side monitor to check for a possible handball.

The ball clearly did strike Hudson-Odoi’s hand while he was under pressure from Mason Greenwood, however the spot kick was not awarded.

The ball clearly hit Callum Hudson-Odoi's hand in the penalty area against Manchester United

The ball clearly hit Callum Hudson-Odoi’s hand in the penalty area against Manchester United

Referee Stuart Atwell was told to look at the VAR monitor, but decided to not give the penalty

Referee Stuart Atwell was told to look at the VAR monitor, but decided to not give the penalty

Referee Stuart Atwell was told to look at the VAR monitor, but decided to not give the penalty

It left the Manchester United players fuming, and Sky Sports commentator Gary Neville said: ‘There’s no doubt two or three months ago, that’s a penalty.

‘And there’s no doubt two or three months ago the referee on the pitch would’ve abided by the referral.’

Last weekend, there was confusion over the handball rule when a penalty was not given after the ball struck Kyle Bartley’s arm, however it became clear it had come off his thigh first.

Manchester United players were left angry and confused after the referee did not give the pen

Manchester United players were left angry and confused after the referee did not give the pen

Manchester United players were left angry and confused after the referee did not give the pen

VAR has been the subject of extreme controversy ever since its addition to the Premier League, with issues coming up often multiple times a week.

This weekend has been no different, after a bizarre incident where a goal was disallowed, given, and then disallowed again within the space of a few minutes during Brighton’s game against West Brom on Saturday. 

More to follow. 

HANDBALL RULE – KEY DETAILS

It is an offence if a player:

  • deliberately touches the ball with their hand/arm, including moving the hand/arm towards the ball
  • touches the ball with their hand/arm when:

– the hand/arm has made their body unnaturally bigger

– the hand/arm is above/beyond their shoulder level (unless the player deliberately plays the ball which then touches their hand/arm

The above offences apply even if the ball touches a player’s hand/arm directly from the head or body (including the foot) of another player who is close.

Except for the above offences, it is not an offence if the ball touches a player’s hand/arm:

  • directly from the player’s own head or body (including the foot)
  • directly from the head or body (including the foot) of another player who is close
  • if the hand/arm is close to the body and does not make the body unnaturally bigger
  • when a player falls and the hand/arm is between the body and the ground to support the body, but not extended laterally or vertically away from the body

For the purposes of determining handball offences, the upper boundary of the arm is in line with the bottom of the armpit.

 

 


Source link

bourbiza

Bourbiza Mohamed. Writer and Political Discourse Analysis.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button